Rideshare DUI Attorney in San Diego
Rideshare companies such as Uber and Lyft are becoming more and more popular in California every day. In 2017, both companies had approximately 147,000 rideshare drivers in the state. While driving for a "transportation network company" can help you pick up extra cash, you could face both criminal and job-related consequences if you are convicted of DUI.
For a free consultation with a San Diego DUI defense lawyer who knows the nuances of California’s ever-changing ridesharing laws, please contact jD LAW, P.C. at (760) 630-2000.
Everyone knows the risks of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Not only do rideshare drivers put themselves at risk, they put passengers at risk. In addition to facing a possible personal injury lawsuit after an accident causing injury or death, rideshare drivers face significant penalties if they are convicted of a DUI while working for a rideshare company.
Under California law, any driver with a blood alcohol content level over 0.08% is considered to be driving over the legal limit. The exception to this law is commercial drivers, who are considered to be driving under the influence with a BAC over 0.04%.
Previously, because rideshare drivers were not required to hold a commercial driver’s license, they were held to the same BAC requirements as other drivers.
But beginning July 1, 2018, rideshare drivers have to abide by the 0.04% BAC requirement. They will not be required to obtain a commercial driver’s license, and that 0.04% limit will only apply when they are transporting paying passengers in their vehicles.
Rideshare drivers face similar penalties to other drivers if they are accused of driving under the influence: they will have their driver’s license suspended. A license can be suspended for up to six months, which means that the driver will no longer be able to drive for the rideshare company, risking his or her job if convicted.
Standard DUI penalties also include fines up to $1,000, and anywhere from 48 hours to six months in jail. Drivers may also be placed on probation for up to three years after a DUI conviction.
California law requires that all transportation network companies maintain a zero-tolerance policy for their drivers in regards to driving under the influence. The company must perform an initial background check before hiring a driver. During that background check, they must look for DUIs on the driver’s record within the past seven years. Drivers who have a DUI will not be able to drive for the company.
While seven years is the amount of time indicated by the law, some rideshare companies are considering including the past ten years of driving history in their background checks. This would fall in line with the length of time the state uses when considering prior convictions.
Being convicted, or even charged, with a DUI can have serious consequences for a rideshare driver. You can face legal penalties such as fines and jail time, and may even lose your job as a result.
For this reason, it is extremely important for any rideshare driver charged with a DUI to speak to an experienced San Diego criminal defense attorney. Contact jD LAW, P.C. at (760) 630-2000. Lead attorney James N. Dicks will go to work to help you avoid the serious consequences attached to a DUI conviction, including losing your license, losing your job, spending time in jail, paying large fines, and having a permanent criminal record.
We offer a free consultation, and a special rate for first-time misdemeanor DUI cases. We can be flexible if clients need more time to pay for their defense, and we pride ourselves on our firm’s excellent results for clients. Do not delay; call us right now. The sooner we tackle your case, the better.
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation
- December 11, 2019
What Is the Statute of Limitations for California Car Accidents?
- October 31, 2019
New Smart Streetlights Aid Law Enforcement in San Diego
- October 23, 2019
How to Prove Fault in Slip-and-Fall Incidents in a Place of Business