San Diego Law Blog
Domestic violence is a horrible thing to be accused of when you are innocent. The possible legal consequences and damage to your reputation can seem unbearable at times. Unfortunately, false allegations of domestic abuse are not as rare as some people think.
According to the Pew research Center, over 82 percent of Americans are currently using at least one form of social media. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, LinkedIn, and other forms of social media have become an integral part of most people’s lives.
California’s drunk driving laws also prohibits drugged driving. To convict a driver of driving under the influence of drugs (DUID), prosecutors must prove the person’s driving was impaired by drugs or some combination of drugs and alcohol.
A washout period is the amount of time when a prior conviction will be applied to later criminal charges. Also known a lookback period, a washout period limits how long earlier convictions will count against you if you are convicted of an offense such as drunk driving.
Proposition 64, the Adult Use Marijuana Act, permits the private use, sale, and cultivation of marijuana for people over the age of 21. There are still a number of restrictions regarding where it can be used, how it can be purchased, and the amount of marijuana that you are allowed to legally possess or cultivate.
Possession of stolen property can be prosecuted as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on how much the property is worth. But either way, you could be looking at jail time if convicted.
California was one of the first states to join the Interstate Driver’s License Compact (IDLC) in 1963. The IDLC is an agreement entered into by 45 U.S. states to share information about arrests and convictions related to driving. If you are arrested for DUI in one of the other 44 states belonging to the compact, that state will share the information with California, and it will count on your driving record.
A failed drug test can have serious consequences if you are on probation in California or in the military. Random drug testing is a standard part of court-ordered oversight for many people on probation, even for non-drug-related offenses.
To get a commercial driver’s license (CDL) in California, in addition to meeting federal requirements, drivers must successfully complete an Entry Level Driver Training (ELDT) program conducted by a registered provider, with a minimum of 15 hours of behind-the-wheel training. CDL holders are subject to California state laws, as well as federal regulations. This includes the potential to have a commercial driver’s license suspended.
Facebook offers users the ability to sell goods through Facebook Marketplace. This option has benefited many people who wanted to sell furniture or other items – but these sites have also been used to sell stolen items. Facebook Marketplace appears to have become the preferred platform to sell stolen goods – but is not the only one. eBay, and OfferUp have also been used to move stolen goods. Facebook, eBay and OfferUp prohibit the sale of stolen goods.
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation
- April 23, 2022
Were You Falsely Accused of Domestic Violence?
- April 23, 2022
Social Media Can Hurt You in a Domestic Violence …
- April 7, 2022
Facing Drugged Driving Charges in California?