DUI | San Diego Law Blog
A person’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is one of the key elements used by district attorneys to convict them of driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of California. Generally, if a police officer suspects someone of driving while intoxicated, the officer can pull them over and request a breathalyzer test to measure the driver’s BAC. If the driver has a BAC level of 0.08% or higher, then the officer can arrest the driver for DUI. However, BAC tests are not foolproof, and there are several factors that can influence the test to show a positive result, even if you have not had any alcohol.
Being convicted of a DUI can lead to both administrative punishments and criminal penalties, each of which will have a major impact on your life. While first-time offenders may be able to avoid criminal charges, they may still have to deal with a license suspension if they are not successful in a DMV hearing. Losing your license could impact your career, your relationships, and generally just make it extremely difficult to live in California. Reinstating it, while not impossible, also requires several key steps.
When you are charged with a DUI in San Diego, you may automatically assume that the charges against you are set in stone. However, DUIs are complicated cases, and defendants have several options that can allow them to avoid significant prison time and fines. This will all depend on the specific evidence in your case and the effectiveness of your attorney, but you may be able to avoid a charge with a plea of wet reckless.
The state of California has complex laws regarding DUIs that most defendants are not aware of how serious their charges can be. Even for first-time offenders, prosecutors in San Diego County can level significant charges if they have evidence of additional crimes or you meet certain criteria. These are often referred to as “enhancements” and can take a single misdemeanor charge and turn it into a felony.
The San Diego police plan, publicize, and execute DUI checkpoints regularly. Locations for these checkpoints are chosen based on previous accidents and DUI arrests. In a recent article in the Times of San Diego, a representative of the police department stated that crashes involving impaired drivers can be reduced by up to 20% when well-publicized DUI operations are conducted on a routine basis.
Here at jD LAW, P.C., “driving under the influence” charges in San Diego are somewhat of a specialty. Since 1990, our founder, James N. Dicks, has handled thousands of DUI cases and we offer a special rate for first-time misdemeanor DUIs—$3,000 for a one-time payment, and $3,500 in two installments of $1,750. (But we can be flexible if you need more time to pay for your defense.) In this spirit, we wanted to share this infographic with you, to remind you of what is at stake if you are convicted of a first (or second, or third) DUI. Do not risk it. Call (760) 630-2000 for a free initial consultation and get our help today!
Summer is finally here! That means barbeques, family get-togethers, and outdoor recreation, with plenty of opportunities to have a few drinks. Unfortunately, some people do get behind the wheel with more than the legal blood alcohol limit in their systems. Police in San Diego are on the lookout for inebriated drivers, and are more proactive in their pursuit of potential DUI violations when the season comes around.
Being arrested for a first-time driving under the influence (DUI) offense can result in fines and jail time, if you are convicted. However, sentencing for a second, third, or fourth DUI may be even worse.
Anyone charged with multiple DUIs needs to speak to a San Diego criminal defense attorney who can help get the charges reduced, or dismissed altogether. When choosing your attorney, do not just seek the help of any criminal defense lawyer—speak to jD LAW, P.C. Our team specializes in multiple DUIs.
In 2015, 69 people were arrested for drunk driving in San Diego County alone during New Year’s Eve and the following Sunday morning. In total, California Highway Patrol arrested over 1,000 people on freeways and local streets during peak hours on New Year’s Eve, from 6:00 p.m. Wednesday to 6:00 a.m. the following Sunday.
Not only is the arrival of the New Year a big drinking occasion, but police are also creating more checkpoints to catch intoxicated drivers. If you were arrested in a checkpoint, you should hire an experienced SD criminal defense attorney at jD LAW, P.C.
The holiday season is upon us! For many, that means going out and enjoying all San Diego has to offer. But whether that means attending a friend’s house party or hitting up one of San Diego’s many microbreweries, there is a good chance that alcoholic beverages will be part of that fun. And what starts out as “just one drink” can quickly turn into several, or many bottles of wine shared between friends.
When that happens, it is important to remember not to get behind the wheel of a vehicle, even if you think you are okay to drive. Chances are, you are not—at least, not to the San Diego police’s satisfaction.
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation
- January 19, 2021
State and Federal Laws on Drug Trafficking
- January 9, 2021
Alcohol in the Blood: Understanding BAC Levels in …
- December 29, 2020
The Juvenile Charges for Selling Adderall