Failing to Register as a Sex Offender in San Diego
Sex Offender Registration in California
Sex offender registration is typically a lifetime commitment. In California, sex offenders are required to register their name and address within 5 working days of their release from jail or prison or upon the completion of their alternative sentence. They are also required to register every year within 5 working days of their birthday, their change of residence or their change of name.
Failure to register will result in the following:
- First offense where the original sex crime conviction was a misdemeanor:
misdemeanor offense, with a maximum sentence of 1 year in county jail
- First offense where original sex crime conviction was a felony:
Felony offense, with a sentence of 16 months, 2 years or 3 years in a California state prison
- Second or subsequent offenses:
Felony charges with a minimum sentence of 1 year in state prison
California Penal Code § 290
Under California Penal Code § 290, individuals convicted of sex crimes are required to register as sex offenders. The failure to register as a sex offender can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending upon the original sex crime conviction and whether it is a first or subsequent offense. San Diego law enforcement actively pursues anyone who fails to register as a sex offender.
Failure to register as a sex offender can lead to prison time. It is important to consult an experienced San Diego sex crime defense attorney who can actively assert your rights and work to ensure you are not penalized excessively for something that may have been an oversight, unintentional or a misunderstanding. A skilled San Diego defense lawyer will work to ensure you are treated fairly by the legal system.
You Need Our San Diego Legal Team to Fight Your Case
Because of the social stigma associated with being registered as a sex offender, you may have law enforcement officers, court personnel or prosecutors whose attitudes are negative or who treat you differently than they would if you were not labeled as a sex offender. With San Diego Attorney James N. Dicks and his staff on your side, you will have someone fighting to protect your rights and interests.
You can benefit from our representation! We offer the following qualities:
- More than 30 years of experience
- Board Certified criminal law specialist
- Former police officer detective
- Experience trying hundreds of criminal law cases
Contact jD Law Criminal Defense Attorneys at (760) 630-2000 for quality representation during each step of your case!
How California’s Sex Offender Registry Affects Those Listed
What Happens If I Fail to Register as a Sex Offender?
California Penal Code § 290
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation
Find out the status of your loved
one in San Diego County
- Criminal Law Expert - Led by a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist. Read More
- 100s of Cases Tried - Since 1990, James N. Dicks has represented hundreds of clients. Read Bio
- Client Approved - Read our online testimonials from satisfied jD Law Criminal Defense Attorneys Clients. Yelp Reviews
- April 20, 2023
Options if You’re Facing Charges with Mental …
- April 10, 2023
What is a Deferred Entry of Judgment (DEJ)?
- April 5, 2023
What Do Police Look for to Spot DUIs?