Del Mar DUI Defense Attorneys
Southern California has several strict laws regarding alcohol consumption and traffic violations, often leading to harsh punishments for DUIs. A DUI conviction in Del Mar may not just end with jail time and fees, but also license suspensions, community service, vehicle impoundment, and even more penalties if you have prior charges. These penalties can also destroy your career if you drive commercially or serve in the military and can quickly snowball for repeat offenders.
But you still have options. A DUI charge does not always have to end in a conviction, let alone a trial. To beat these charges, you will need the best legal counsel in North County. That is why, if you or someone you love has been charged with a DUI, you should immediately call jD LAW at (760) 630-2000 to speak to an experience Del Mar DUI defense attorney.
At jD LAW, our team has more than 30 years of experience handling criminal cases throughout San Diego County and we specialize in providing strong defenses for clients charged with DUIs, ultimately leading to positive case results. While our lead attorney can effectively negotiate down your charges by speaking to the district attorney if you are a first-time offender, he can also provide a thorough defense for repeat offenders, members of the military, and minors.
Among the many cases we have handled in the past, we can defend you against charges of:
- Wet Reckless
- DUI & Drugs
- DUI with Injury
- Commercial Driver DUI
- Rideshare DUI
- Boating Under the Influence
- Military DUI
- Underage DUI
- Out of State DUI
- Vehicular Manslaughter
What ever charge you are facing, it is important to contact the very best defense attorney in North County to ensure you receive fair treatment under the law and avoid facing significant penalties.
While most people focus on first-time offenses for a DUI, this offense can quickly snowball depending on the circumstances of your case. California has several sentencing enhancements that apply to DUI cases, including additional charges for members of the military, cases where someone was injured in an accident, and long-term ramifications if you were driving a commercial vehicle like a truck, delivery van, or rideshare car.
To begin with, a first-time DUI charge can result in imprisonment in a San Diego County Jail for between 48 hours and six months, a $1,000 fine, and a six months license suspension. However, even first-time offenders can be subject to a DUI enhancement if their BAC is high enough, leading to harsher DUI penalties. One of the most common DUI enhancements is having a prior DUI on your criminal record, which can lead to second-time offenders facing a minimum of 10 days in jail to up to one year, a $3,000 fine, two-year license suspension, vehicle impoundment, probation for three to five years, and an alcohol treatment program. There is also the real possibility of having an ignition lock device installed in your vehicle.
While most DUIs are charged as misdemeanors, a felony conviction is a real possibility if someone was injured during an accident. The prosecution may seek a sentencing of:
- Imprisonment in a California state prison for 16-months, two or three years
- Fines of between $390 to $1,000
- A license suspension for up to five-years
- DUI school attendance for between 18 to 30 months
However, these charges are not set in stone, and with the proper defense, your attorney may be able to have your charges reduced to a lighter sentencing or diversion program or have your case dismissed without even going to trial.
Building a defense strategy for a DUI case requires a keen eye for detail and an in-depth understanding of Del Mar’s law. If you reach out to jD LAW, our legal team can review every aspect of your case, from how you were arrested to your BAC test results, to prepare a sound defense case on your behalf. Defenses we have used to help clients receive lighter sentencings include:
- The arresting officer performed an illegal stop
- The arresting officer violated your civil rights, such as through an illegal search and seizure
- The field sobriety test was improperly administered
- There are no other forms of evidence besides the objective signs of intoxication
Each case is unique and our team will need to take a closer look at your case before we develop your defense, but with more than 30 years of experience, you can trust that we will not back down from a challenging case.
Fighting these charges will require a thorough understanding of California state laws, DUI testing requirements, and criminal investigation procedures. Luckily for you, our lead attorney, James N. Dicks, is a former LAPD officer, a board-certified criminal law specialist, and has more than 30 years of experience defending clients in criminal trials. He can apply the same experience, skill, and knowledge he has utilized for previous clients to defend you from a DUI conviction. If you or someone you love has been charged with a DUI, contact jD LAW at (760) 630-2000. Our Del Mar criminal defense attorney can explain to you your rights in a free consultation and advocate on your behalf in a criminal trial.
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation
- January 9, 2021
Alcohol in the Blood: Understanding BAC Levels in …
- December 29, 2020
The Juvenile Charges for Selling Adderall
- December 19, 2020
Can Arson Be Charged as a Misdemeanor in …