Del Mar Domestic Violence Lawyers
Domestic violence is abuse that occurs between individuals involved in intimate relationships. One in five women and one in seven men report having experienced severe physical domestic violence in their lifetimes, as stated by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). One in six homicide victims are killed by domestic partners.
Conviction of a domestic violence crime can have serious consequences. If you are facing domestic violence charges in Del Mar, get in touch with an experienced Del Mar criminal defense attorney right away.
A number of crimes are considered domestic violence when committed against an “intimate partner.” Under California law, an intimate partner may be:
- A spouse or former spouse
- A current or former domestic partner
- A current or former romantic cohabitant
- A person with whom you have had a child
- A person you are currently dating or have previously dated
Common offenses that qualify as domestic violence when committed against an intimate partner include:
- Assault: Attempting or threatening to cause bodily injury against another person, even if no actual physical contact occurred. In most cases, penalties include a jail sentence of up to six months and a fine of $1,000.
- Criminal threats: Making threats to kill or cause serious bodily injury to another that are intended to and actually do place the victim in reasonable sustained fear for his or her safety or the safety of family. Penalties upon conviction may include up to one year in jail when charged as a misdemeanor and up to four years in prison as a felony.
- Rape: Forcing another person to have unwanted sexual intercourse, with the use of physical force, threats, duress, or intimidation. Rape is a felony offense that carries up to eight years in prison and lifetime sex offender registration.
- Stalking: Following, harassing, or threatening another person to the point that the victim fears for his or her own safety or the safety of family members. Penalties for stalking may include a jail sentence of up to one year as a misdemeanor or a prison sentence of up to three years as a felony.
The following crimes are specifically domestic violence offenses under California law:
- Domestic battery: Willfully and unlawfully using force or violence against an intimate partner. This crime is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
- Corporal injury to a spouse or cohabitant: Using force against an intimate partner that results in corporal (bodily) injury leading to a traumatic condition. This is a felony offense. It carries penalties including incarceration that can range from one year in county jail to four years in state prison.
Some domestic violence crimes are misdemeanors, others are felonies, and many are wobblers that can be charged as either misdemeanors or felonies at the discretion of the prosecution. In either case, a domestic violence conviction can have serious consequences. Criminal penalties may include a jail or prison sentence, hefty fines, years of probation, domestic violence counseling, restitution to the victim, and/or public service work.
In addition to criminal penalties, a conviction on your record can impact your future prospects for employment, education, housing, and professional licensing. If children are involved, you could lose your rights to custody or visitation.
Contact jD Law Criminal Defense Attorneys at (760) 630-2000 to get a skilled Del Mar domestic violence defense attorney on your side. Founding attorney James N. Dicks is a former LAPD investigator and a board-certified criminal law specialist with more than 30 years of experience.
Sample of Case Results
- Felony Domestic Violence -
- Domestic Disturbance -
- Domestic Violence -
View more case results here.
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation