Rancho Santa Fe Violent Crime Attorneys
In California, crimes that involve using force or threat of force or cause victims to fear for their well-being are classified as violent crimes. These are the most serious criminal offenses with the heaviest penalties.
If you are facing violent crime charges in Rancho Santa Fe, now is the time to retain skilled and knowledgeable legal counsel. Contact jD Law Criminal Defense Attorneys at (760) 630-2000 to speak with an experienced Rancho Santa Fe criminal defense attorney.
Violent crimes have priority over other crimes in police investigations. Arrests for the following violent crimes are common in Rancho Santa Fe and the surrounding area:
- Assault: Performing an act that is likely to result in the application of force on a person is assault, whether or not that person was actually injured. Simple assault is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $10,000. The use of a deadly weapon is an aggravating factor that means enhanced penalties of up to four years in jail or prison.
- Battery: Using willful and unlawful force on another person is battery. Conviction of simple battery carries up to six months in county jail, a fine of up to $2,000, or both. Battery causing great bodily harm is an aggravated offense that can be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor. When charged as a felony, it is punishable by up to four years in state prison and a fine of $10,000.
- Robbery: Using force or threats to take a person’s property against their will is robbery. Second-degree robbery carries a prison sentence of up to five years with a potential fine of up to $10,000. First-degree robbery is punishable by up to nine years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. Robbery can be aggravated with enhanced sentencing if it causes great bodily injury or if a firearm is used to commit the crime.
- Arson: This crime involves burning property willfully and maliciously or helping someone else do so. Penalties may include up to nine years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. Arson is punishable under California’s three-strikes system – it can count as a third strike, which means a minimum prison sentence of 25 years.
If you have been arrested and charged with a violent crime, you still have rights under the law, including the right to the best possible defense. Depending on the circumstances of your case, your Rancho Santa Fe violent crime defense lawyer can raise every applicable argument to defend you against the charges. Common defenses in violent crime cases include:
- Self-defense: You were, or believed you were, under imminent threat of bodily harm or death and used the appropriate level of force to defend yourself.
- Defense of another: Your actions were necessary to protect another person from imminent harm.
- Mistaken identity: You did not commit the crime and were mistaken for someone else.
- Alibi: You were elsewhere at the time the crime occurred, making it impossible for you to have committed it.
- Duress or coercion: You were threatened or forced into committing the crime by another person. This defense involves the threat of immediate danger, leaving the defendant with no other option.
The jD Law Criminal Defense Attorneys team in Rancho Santa Fe has more than 30 years of legal experience and is committed to fighting for the rights of our clients. Our founding attorney, Mr. James N. Dicks, is a former police officer who uses his insight to the advantage of our clients.
If you have been charged with a violent crime in Rancho Santa Fe, we want to hear about it. We have the track record and resources to provide the best defense possible. Call us anytime at (760) 630-2000 to schedule your free initial consultation.
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation
- August 30, 2023
How California’s Work Release Furlough Program …
- August 20, 2023
California Determinate vs. Indeterminate Sentences
- August 10, 2023
DUI and Commercial Drivers: Unique Challenges and …