Escondido Domestic Violence Defense Lawyers
Nobody wants to be accused of domestic violence. These accusations are embarrassing, and they can do considerable harm to your reputation. A conviction for domestic violence may result in serious jail time and it can dramatically impact your career.
Domestic violence charges are often the result of false accusations or an argument that gets out of hand. And once you have been charged with domestic violence in Escondido, the entire weight of the criminal justice system will come crashing down on top of you.
It’s essential to remember that you have the right to be represented by an attorney at all times. When your future is on the line, you’ll want to have the right people by your side to defend you.
Our team at jD Law Criminal Defense Attorneys has been recognized for outstanding client service by Super Lawyers. We will explore every legal avenue and come up with the best strategy to protect your freedom.
Call (760) 630-2000 to schedule a FREE consultation with an Escondido criminal defense lawyer today.
When the police are called to the scene of a domestic dispute, they begin forming an impression as soon as they receive information relayed by the 911 dispatcher. The person who makes the call is automatically assumed to be the victim of a serious crime.
Police officers are likely to make an arrest when charges of domestic violence have been made. They usually don’t see the incident occur, so the officers have to rely on witness accounts and the evidence they record at the scene.
The person who was reported to be the perpetrator in the initial call is usually assumed to be the primary aggressor. There’s a strong bias against men in these cases, and police often assume that a male suspect is guilty.
Factors that help determine who gets arrested for domestic violence include:
- Who made the 911 call?
- Witness statements
- Physical evidence
- Does anyone have visible injuries?
- Statements made by the parties involved
California domestic violence statutes define domestic violence as abuse against an intimate partner, which may include:
- Current or former spouse
- Current or former domestic partner
- Current or former fiancé or fiancée
- Person with whom the accused has a child
- Someone who is or was previously in a dating relationship
There are a number of statutes that may be used to prosecute domestic violence. And someone arrested for domestic violence may be charged with any of the following offenses:
- Corporal injury
- Sexual assault
- Criminal threats
- Aggravated trespass
- Damaging a phone line
Depending on the circumstances, domestic violence may be prosecuted as a felony or a misdemeanor in California. Several factors will determine if the district attorney files misdemeanor charges, including whether it’s a first offense, the extent of the injuries, and the defendant’s criminal record.
Penalties for misdemeanor domestic violence may include:
- Up to $2000 in fines
- Mandatory classes
- Community service
- Up to a year in jail
Penalties for felony domestic violence charges may include:
- Fines up to $10,000
- Mandatory classes
- Alcohol abuse counseling
- Five or more years in jail
- A strike under California’s 3 strikes laws
California has some of the toughest domestic violence laws in the nation. If convicted, you face significant time behind bars and lifelong consequences, including loss of gun ownership rights, revocation of a professional license, and serious repercussions concerning your immigration status.
Our founding attorney James N. Dicks has been defending clients and working in the San Diego County criminal justice system for over 30 years. We know the best strategies for getting your charges dropped or reduced.
Call (760) 630-2000 to learn more today.
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation