Bonsall Domestic Violence Defense Lawyers
Domestic violence arrests are common in Bonsall and throughout the state. In a single recent year, law enforcement in California received 166,890 domestic violence-related calls, as reported by the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence (NCADV). Under state law, domestic violence is any form of abuse committed against an “intimate partner.” It may involve intentional or reckless use of physical force, or threats of using force against another person.
Conviction of a domestic violence offense can have serious consequences. If you are facing charges, contact an experienced Bonsall domestic violence defense attorney right away.
Various crimes are considered domestic violence offenses when committed against an intimate partner. Under California law, an intimate partner may include any of the following:
- Spouse or former spouse
- Cohabitant or former cohabitant
- Other parent of a child of the accused
- Current or former domestic partner
- Present or former fiancé or fiancée
- Person the accused is dating or has dated in the past
Common domestic violence offenses in Bonsall include:
- Assault: Under California law, assault is an unlawful attempt, coupled with a present ability, to commit violent injury on another person, even if no actual physical contact occurred. This misdemeanor crime is punishable by a jail sentence of up to six months and fines of up to $1,000.
- Domestic battery: This crime is defined as the use of force against an intimate partner in which actual physical contact occurs. When charged as a felony, domestic battery carries up to four years in state prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000. As a misdemeanor offense, it is punishable by up to a year in county jail and/or a fine of $2,000.
- Criminal threats: Making threats of death or great bodily injury that are intended to and actually do place the victim in reasonable and sustained fear for his or her safety or the safety of his or her family is the crime known as criminal threats. If charged as a misdemeanor, it carries penalties including up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000. As a felony offense, it is punishable by a prison term of 16 months, two years, or three years and a fine of up to $10,000.
- Stalking: Following, harassing, or threatening another person to the point that the victim fears for his or her safety or the safety of family members is stalking. Misdemeanor stalking is punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year. Penalties for felony stalking include up to three years in state prison.
- Corporal injury upon a spouse or cohabitant: A person can be charged with this crime for using force or violence that inflicts even slight physical injury on an intimate partner. It is a felony offense that carries penalties ranging from one year in county jail to four years in state prison.
In addition to criminal penalties, a domestic violence conviction has other consequences that can significantly impact your future. You could lose custody of your child, lose your California gun rights, and have a restraining order issued against you. A conviction means a permanent criminal record that can affect your education, employment, and housing opportunities, as well as your personal relationships.
If you have been accused of domestic violence, contact a Bonsall criminal defense lawyer at jD Law Criminal Defense Attorneys at (760) 630-2000. Our founding attorney is a former police officer. We have the knowledge, skills, and experience to help you obtain the best possible outcome in your case.
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation