San Diego Hit and Run Accident Attorneys
Leaving the scene of an accident is a crime in California, but some drivers still commit hit and runs. These collisions can be devastating for accident victims who only want to move on and recover, but that can be difficult with rising medical debt and lost wages. You may assume you cannot file an auto accident claim if you cannot identify the driver, but there are still options out there.
If you were injured in a collision caused by a driver who chose to leave the scene of a car accident, then you should reach out to a knowledgeable San Diego hit and run accident attorney at jD LAW. Our founding attorney is a former LAPD investigator who can thoroughly review your case and insurance policy to find every available source of compensation. Call us at (760) 630-2000 to schedule a free consultation.
Hit and run accidents are not hopeless situations and there is still the possibility that the at-fault driver can be caught. If you file a police report, law enforcement may be successful in locating the at-fault driver, depending in part on how much information about the vehicle and driver you or other witnesses can provide. You will want to include all the available information you can in the report, including:
- The vehicle’s make, model, and color, and any distinguishing features, including any damage to the vehicle that occurred in the accident
- Any details about the driver, such as gender, race, age range, and any other identifying physical characteristics
- License plate number in full or in part, if possible
- The direction the vehicle was traveling when it left the scene
Alongside your own accounts of the accident, witnesses may prove imperative in identifying the driver. Witnesses at any nearby restaurants, retail stores, or other business establishments are a good place to start. If you locate a person who saw the crash occur, get that person’s contact information in case you need it in the future. You will also want to speak to any property owners who may have surveillance footage of the accident.
Accident photos are also going to be extremely helpful in the investigation and in filing your claim, as you will need to demonstrate the extent of the damage and show negligence to the insurance adjuster or jury if your case goes to trial.
Lastly, your medical records will also be valuable evidence to help document your damages, and you should not avoid going to a hospital after an accident. Getting fully checked up can rule out a host of debilitating and long-lasting injuries, such as spinal cord damage, brain trauma, and internal injuries that you might not notice. Even if you do not know who caused the accident yet, you can still utilize your own health insurance to minimize the overall medical costs as well as specific auto insurance policies to file a claim against.
If the investigation does turn up the at-fault driver, you may be able to pursue a claim for damages against their policy. However, even if you do not, your own insurance policy may prove helpful. California auto insurance companies are required by law to provide uninsured motorist (UM) coverage and you can only deny it in writing. Thus, it is likely that your personal auto insurance policy includes UM coverage for damages. The policy limits are designed to match your own liability policy, meaning even if you have minimum coverage, you may be able to file for up to:
- $15,000 for injuries
- $30,000 for all injuries of drivers and passengers in one accident
In addition to this coverage, some auto insurance policies include MedPay, which provides no-fault coverage for any injury sustained in an accident. The minimum available policy is $1,000, but your limit may be higher, and you are allowed to file for these funds immediately after an accident to receive emergency treatment.
Hit and run accidents are complex cases, but most victims assume that they have no options. Many choose to pay out-of-pocket even when there are insurance policies that will cover them. But to ensure you get the most out of a policy, you will need the aid of a skilled attorney.
At jD LAW, our lead attorney has over 30 years of experience advocating for clients across San Diego County and has served as an LAPD investigator. With his knowledge and expertise, he can review your case, determine all sources of compensation, and aggressively advocate for the highest possible damages in an insurance claim or jury trial. To get the best legal aid from a skilled San Diego car accident attorney after a hit and run collision, contact us at (760) 630-2000 to schedule a consultation.
Don’t Wait A Second Longer
When you have been injured, or a loved one has been killed due to the negligence of another, you need legal help. Contact jD LAW, today to get the justice you deserve.