Third DUI Offense Penalties
Being charged with a third DUI is a serious offense. After a 3rd DUI, a judge tends to be harsher with the penalties imposed to the defendant. For this reason, it is crucial to retain a Criminal Defense Attorney from JD Law.
In California, if convicted of a third DUI you can expect the following:
- The court can place you on probation for a span of 3 to 5 years. The probation can be either formal or summary.
- In addition, a fine ranging from $1,800 to $2,800, not including court fees, will be imposed. Both the North County Superior Court and San Diego Superior Court allow people to make payments as long as they report to the Court Collections Office by a certain date.
- DMV can suspend your license for up to ten years. However, after a three-year suspension, the attorney can help you apply for a restricted license that would allow you to and from work, school or during or during the course of your employment.
- You will be ordered to attend a MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Drivers) Course and enroll in a Multiple Conviction Class.
- You are required to serve 120 mandatory days of jail time. However, it may be possible to have the jail time be served through home arrest, rehab, or the combination of these.
If you or a loved one has been charged with driving under the influence, call our offices today for a free consultation. Attorney James N. Dicks can help defend your rights and give you the best defense possible.
Don’t Waste Any Time!
Call us today for a FREE Consultation
- September 22, 2020
Personal Injury Trials: What You Need to Know
- September 17, 2020
California’s Open Container Laws and Takeout …
- September 15, 2020
Ramifications of SB-710 on Parole, Wobblers, and …